NORDIC HANDS - Godsbanen Skovgaardsgade 3, Aarhus

NORDIC HANDS
Godsbanen Skovgaardsgade 3, Aarhus
17 september 2018 - 22 september 2018
NORDIC HANDS is a meeting of experts in thinking through materials. With the laboratory as the focal point, 16 Nordic artists/craftspeople and ‘art writers’ will work together practically and theoretically for a week in September at Godsbanen in Aarhus. 

In well arranged workshop sessions the participants will exchange and clarify working processes, materiality and artistic modes of expression. The participants will make short presentations in ongoing open sessions to which we invite practitio¬ners, presenters, communicators and people from creative courses for the young in Aarhus. An exhibition of work and workshop photos will be shown in the Production Corridor. The process will be documented concurrently in writing and with photo material for a publication and further promotion of the project and the symposium.

We conclude the process with a public symposium with contributions from artists, theoreticians and presenters, elucidating in depth artistic idioms, perceptions and the communication of material- and craft-based art and ‘art writing’. Physical laboratory results will be included.

www.hintproject.dk nordichands

LABORATORY:
September 16. – 21.

Participating artists and art-writers
Norway
John K. Raustein  www.johnkraustein.com
Trude Johansen  www.trudejohansen.com
Anna Talbot  www.annatalbot.com
Sweden
Petter Hellsing  www.petterhellsing.se
Moa Håkansson  http://norskekunsthandverkere.no/users/moa-hakansson
Mårten Medbo  www.medbo.com
Magnus Bärtås  www.magnusbartas.se/index.htm
Finland
Saana Murtti  www.saanamurtti.com
Anna Rikkinen  www.annarikkinen.com
Jussi Järvinen  www.jarvinenjussi.com
Iceland
Hrafnhildur Halldorsdottir  www.hrafnhildur-halldorsdottir.com
Rósa Sigrún Jónsdóttir  https://rosasigrun.com
Denmark
Kamilla Jørgensen  www.ensumaffakta.blogspot.dk
Jacob Juhl  www.jacobjuhl.dk
Sanne Ransby  www.sanneransby.dk
Mariko Wada  www.marikowada.com
 

SYMPOSIUM:
September 22. 10 am - 5 pm
Remisen Godsbanen
Presenters:
Saana Murtti, ceramicist (FI)
Mikkel B. Tin, philosopher (NO)
Trude Johansen, artist (NO)
Magnus Bärtås, art writer (SE)
Lise Skytte Jacobsen, Associate Profesor, Art History Aarhus University (DK)
Mårten Medbo, ceramicist (SE)